Tuesday, November 15, 2011

American Music Awards 2011 Live Stream, AMA Justin Bieber, Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Kelly Clarkson

American Music Awards 2011 Live Stream, AMA Justin Bieber, Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Kelly Clarkson

Marc Anthony, Justin Bieber, Kelly Clarkson, Chris Brown, LMFAO and Katy Perry are also performing on this November 20 2011 American Music Awards live stream, or AMA show. Katy Perry heads into the show as one of the night's most-nominated acts, along with fellow females Adele, Lady Gaga and Taylor Swift. The American Music Awards is an annual major American music awards show (among the others are the Grammy Awards and the Billboard Music Awards)

The AMAs were created by Dick Clark in 1973 to compete with the Grammys after the move of that year's show to Nashville, Tennessee led to CBS picking up the Grammy telecasts after its first two in 1971 and 1972 were broadcast on ABC. Michael Jackson and Donny Osmond co-hosted the first award show with Rodney Allen Rippy and Ricky Segall in 1974.

While the Grammy Awards are awarded based on votes by members of the entertainment industry, the AMAs are determined by a poll of music buyers, and as a result is more of a representative of public opinion. The most established awards shows (AMAs, BMAs, and Grammy Awards) compete for prestige and television ratings, with the Grammy Awards nominally rewarding both. Stories of artists being pressured to participate in one awards show over the other have been fodder for tabloid gossip and controversy. The controversy was muted somewhat after the AMAs moved to late November, avoiding being in the same awards season as the Grammys.

The American Music Awards have nominations based on sales, airplay, activity on social networks, and video viewing and can nominate only the works released between 1 December of the previous year and 1 September of the current year. Before 2010 had nominations based only on sales and airplay and nominated every work, even if old. The Grammys have nominations based on vote of the Academy and only nominate a work from their eligibility period that changes often